About Vault Provisioning


Your organization can submit a request to clone, refresh, or delete a vault by filing a Veeva Support ticket. Veeva responds to these requests within 24 hours from the time we receive the request, according to our SLA. We perform all provisioning using the Vault Management Console, which is a validated tool.

Moving Between Limited and General Release

It is possible to move vaults from Limited Release to General Release when both are on the same version, which only happens immediately following a General Release.

If you need to move from Limited Release to General Release outside this time frame, we must provision a new vault. It is not possible to move a vault from one domain to another.

Sandboxes

Customers are entitled to three (3) sandbox vaults for every production vault. If you require more than three, you can place an add-on order with Veeva’s finance team.

Sandbox Domains

Veeva’s policy is to provide one sandbox domain and one production domain. UAT vaults should be in the sandbox domain. If you are testing domain-level settings, we can provide an additional domain for that purpose.

Sandbox PODs

Veeva determines your sandbox POD based on the customer location from the order form. By default, all vaults stemming from this sandbox will be on the same POD, which prevents discrepancies when we do staggered POD updates. However, we can move vaults between PODs. To request this, submit a ticket through Veeva Support or work with your Managed Services contact to schedule the move.

Cloning Vaults

Cloning a vault will duplicate only the configuration of the vault. The following are not included when cloning:

  • Object records
  • Custom objects and objects not considered core configuration; note that the list of cloned objects is subject to change without notice.
  • Users; cloning copies groups (including certain Auto Managed groups), but those groups are initially empty.
  • Domain-level settings (SSO settings, security policies, etc.)
  • User-specific security overrides; we recommend setting up all security overrides by user group if you want to include them in a clone.

Many of the excluded items can be recreated in the new vault using Configuration Migration Packages and Vault Loader.

Vault Name, Domain & DNS Changes

It is possible to change the name of a vault, the name of a domain, and the DNS associated with a vault.

Vault Name

Changing a vault’s name only affects the label that appears in the Vault selector menu and My Vaults page.

Domain Name

The domain is part of each user’s login name (user@domain.com). When changing a domain name, all users must subsequently log in using the new domain name. 

DNS

The DNS is the personalized portion of your vault’s URL: “veeva-qms” in https://veeva-qms.veevavault.com. The DNS is unique to each vault.

It is possible to change the DNS associated with your vault. Note that this will break any bookmarks that users have created, but references established within Vault will work the same after a DNS change.

Refreshing Vaults

In some situations where your vault is already a clone, it is possible to “refresh” the vault. For example, you could refresh a UAT vault that was cloned from a sandbox vault.

Refreshing functions like cloning, but allows the vault to retain its existing DNS, vault name, and users. Like with cloning, refreshing does not retain the vault’s documents. Refreshing updates one vault’s configuration based on the vault it was originally cloned from. 

If you refresh the source vault at any time, it is now considered a new vault and it is no longer possible to refresh any clones of that vault. It is never possible to refresh production vaults.

Note that refreshing your vault removes all files from the FTP server.

About the User Object

If you make changes to the User object in a vault and then perform a refresh, Vault does not retain those changes. Additionally, refreshing a vault will not include any custom fields created on the User object at this time. 

Managed Services Licenses

Many vaults include Managed Services licenses. The Vault Operations team adds these licenses for Veeva personnel to assist with setup and administration. These are complimentary do not count against the licenses your company purchases. However, they do appear in the total count of Full User licenses, which means that your total usage may exceed the total available licenses you see in Admin > Settings > General Settings under License Information

License Reductions

If your organization submits a license reduction order through Veeva Finance, Vault Operations will reduce the total number of licenses available but will not remove any existing users. You may see an overage in Admin > Settings > General Settings under License Information. This overage will remain until an Admin removes users from the vault.