Temporarily Allow Destructive Changes

If your new casebook version contains a necessary destructive change, you must enable the destructive change through the Disable Retro Amendment Errors on Deletion setting in Admin for the study before you can run an amendment job. We recommend that you keep the Disable Retro Amendment Errors on Deletion setting value set to false when not in use, to maintain standard protections.

If you need additional review and support for destructive changes, contact Veeva Services.

Learn more about destructive changes.

Prerequisites

The tasks below must be performed by a user with the Vault Owner security profile.


Enable Destructive Changes for a Study

A Vault Owner must enable this feature in the production (PRD) study environment in which you want to perform the retrospective amendment. This setting only applies at the study level. In non-production environments, no enablement is required. To deploy your changes into production and perform amendments, perform the steps below in the production environment only.

To enable destructive changes for a Study:

  1. Navigate to Admin > Business Admin > Objects > Study Settings.
  2. Click + Create.
  3. For Name, enter “disable_retro_error_on_deletion”.
  4. For Study, enter the name of your study environment (for example, “Cholecap” or “Labrinone”).
  5. For Value, enter “true”.
  6. Click Save.

Run the Amendment

You can now run your retrospective amendment.

When finished, we recommend either deleting the Study Setting record or setting the Value to “false”.