Pre-Release FAQ

What Is Vault 17R1 Pre-Release?

Vault pre-release is a three- to four-week period prior to the general availability of Vault 17R1. During this period, customers have an opportunity to explore 17R1 in a “pre-release vault” based on their production vault configurations. The primary purpose of the pre-release vault is to ensure current configuration behavior in V16 works the same in 17R1. Any user acceptance testing (UAT) or validation testing should be done in this period. Optionally, customers can also use their pre-release vaults to explore the features that are not automatically enabled and decide which of these they want to use in their production vault after April 14 or 21. 

When is Pre-Release?

Pre-release starts on Monday, March 27 and continues until 17R1 is released on April 14 to certain customers and April 21 to all customers.

Which Customers Can Participate?

Pre-release vaults are automatically available for most customer production vaults. CRO organizations will receive a pre-release vault that uses their application template without any custom configurations. Multichannel customers must request a pre-release vault by filing a ticket with Veeva Support.

Is Participation Required?

No. Customers do not have to try out their pre-release vault. However, we do encourage it to ensure the system continues to meet customers’ expectations.

What’s in my Pre-Release Vault?

We create your pre-release vault by copying the configuration of your production vault. If you are not yet live on Veeva Vault, we make this copy using your sandbox vault. The configuration includes document types, document fields, lifecycles, workflows, picklists, object data records, groups, and other settings in the Admin area. It does not include any of the content (documents and binders) from your production vault or users.

How Do I Log into my Pre-Release Vault?

Pre-release vaults are created with a small set of users: all vault owners and Vault Support. The vault owners can create other users as needed.

Note that groups are copied from your production vault, but they are empty because the users are not copied. When you add users in your pre-release vault, you can add them to the copied groups as desired.

Note also that the pre-release usernames are slightly different than production or sandbox. For example, if your production username is john.smith@veevaprom.com, your pre-release email will have “pre” appended to the end of the domain: john.smith@veevaprompre.com.

How Do I Learn More About 17R1 Features?

See About the 17R1 Release.

How Do I Enable / Configure 17R1 Features?

Many 17R1 features must be intentionally enabled within a vault by a Vault Admin. In some cases, enablement is as simple as selecting a checkbox in Admin > Settings. In other cases, enablement requires more involved configuration of lifecycles, workflows, document fields, etc. There are also some enhancements (generally with very modest impact) that Vault enables automatically. See About the 17R1 Release for details.

What Happens as Part of the 17R1 Release?

When the 17R1 release occurs on April 14 or 21, Veeva will upgrade your production and sandbox vaults from V16 to 17R1. The upgrade will not adversely impact existing documents or work in progress.

The visible impact of the upgrade will be the same as what you observe in your pre-release vault. The set of enhancements that are automatically on will immediately be visible, and some features will require action by a Vault administrator or Veeva Support to enable or configure before they become visible to end users.


Last Updated: