Using Object Workflows


This article explains how to start a workflow, manage an in-progress workflow, and complete tasks as a workflow participant. 

How to Start Workflows

To start a workflow:

  1. From the object record Actions menu, select the workflow start action.
  2. Vault presents the workflow start dialog with all of the information and fields required to start the workflow.
  3. Provide the required information and click Start. See details below for assigning users.

How to Assign Users to Workflows

When assigning users as workflow participants, keep in mind that Vault does not check whether the object uses Dynamic Access Control, or whether the users you select have the necessary access to the object record. It is possible to assign tasks to users who cannot complete them.

To assign users:

  1. Choose a user or group by entering the name or clicking the down arrow to select from a list. Only the first 100 users/groups appear in the list. To see more options, start typing the user/group name. Groups appear in the list with a special icon.
  2. Optional: If you’ve selected a group, hover over the group name to see a list of users (up to 30) in that group.
  3. Optional: To expand the group to its individual members, click the plus (+) icon. When you do this, Vault treats the group members as individual users and allows you to remove some members.

Adding Participants to Active Workflows

You can add participants to all active workflows where a role has current tasks, future tasks, or future notifications. For workflows configured to Allow workflow initiator to select participants, you can add users directly from the workflow’s Actions menu.

To add users:

  1. Navigate to the Workflow Timeline section of the object record details page or an object workflow report.
  2. From the workflow Actions menu, select Add Participants.
  3. In the dialog, add the users or groups to the appropriate participant groups. You cannot remove any users already in participant group.
  4. Click Submit. Vault sends a notification and adds active tasks to the new users’ Tasks view.

You can add participants to any existing participant groups defined for the workflow. You cannot add users to participant groups assigned to workflow steps that have already been completed. Note that if a participant group is constrained by a given role, you can only add users or groups currently in that role. See details below for adding users to workflows configured to Use roles as participants.

Adding Participants through Role-Based Assignment

On workflows with the Use roles as participants control on the start step, Vault automatically assigns users in the specified role on the object record at the time the workflow starts. In this situation, you won’t need to select users. To add users to active workflows in this configuration:

  1. Navigate to the object record details page, and then to Sharing Settings.
  2. In the Access via Manual Assignment panel, click + Add.
  3. Select the Role to which you want to add a user.
  4. Select one or more Users and Groups.
  5. Click Save. Vault adds the selected users and groups as participants in the active workflow. If there is an active task, Vault creates tasks and assigns them to the new users.

Admins can also configure workflows so that certain workflow participant groups only allow users who are already in specific roles on the object record. In this configuration, you are only able to select allowed users.

Assigning & License Type Restrictions

You cannot select users with the license type Read-Only User for roles on a workflow. Vault hides these users in workflow participant fields. If you assign tasks to a group, Vault skips assignment for these users, but assigns the task normally to other users in the group.

How to Complete Assigned Tasks

Workflows can include various workflow tasks. Depending on the workflow configuration, tasks you complete may be assigned directly to you or available for you to accept.

Assigned Tasks

Any tasks assigned to you appear in the details page for the specific object record. Click the Complete button. In the task dialog, fill in any required fields or other information and click Complete.

Reassign Tasks

To reassign a task:

  1. Navigate to the Workflow Timeline section of the object record detail page.
  2. From the task’s Actions menu, select Reassign.
  3. In the dialog, select the new user from the New task owner picklist.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Vault notifies the new task owner of the reassignment. The previous owner does not receive a notification.

How to Provide eSignatures

On some workflows, completing a task or selecting a specific verdict requires you to electronically sign. You do this by entering your login credentials (username and password) for the vault. Sometimes, you’ll also need to select a “capacity” for your eSignature, which indicates why or in what context you’re signing.

Note that Vault prevents you from using saved passwords for compliance reasons. Even if you’ve saved your password in your browser or a password manager, you’ll have to type the password to provide an eSignature.

Task Dates

If a task has a due date, Vault displays the date alongside the task. The Workflow Timeline view in the object record details page also display a status icon that indicates if a due date is within the next week or has already passed. 

Cancelling Tasks

You may sometimes need to cancel a workflow task, for example, if one of the assigned reviewers is on vacation and cannot complete a review. Cancelling tasks helps you prevent the workflow from becoming stuck.

How to Cancel Tasks

To cancel an open workflow task:

  1. Navigate to the Workflow Timeline section of the object record details page.
  2. Use the Actions menu on an individual task to select Cancel Task.
  3. In the dialog, click Continue.

Cancelling Workflows

Sometimes it is necessary to stop an active workflow and remove all outstanding tasks from participants’ lists. 

How to Cancel Workflows

To cancel an in-progress workflow:

  1. Navigate to the Workflow Timeline section of the object record details page.
  2. Click on the Actions menu and select Cancel Workflow.
  3. In the dialog, click Continue.

Workflow Cancel State

When you cancel a workflow, the object record returns to the state it was in before the workflow started.

The following permissions control various workflow actions:

Type Permission Label Controls
Security Profile Object: Read Ability to view an object record; you must have this permission and an object role with View permission to initiate a workflow on a specific object record or to view an assigned task on that record; if you have an assigned task on a record you cannot access, you won't see the task, but will receive notifications and reminders for it.
Security Profile Workflow: Start Ability to initiate a workflow
Security Profile Workflow Administration: Reassign Ability to reassign a workflow task to a different user without canceling the workflow
Security Profile Workflow Administration: Add Participant Ability to add participants to active workflow and assign them a workflow task without canceling the workflow
Security Profile Workflow Administration: Cancel Ability to cancel an open workflow task or stop an active workflow and remove all outstanding tasks from participants’ lists