Changing Your Profile, Password & Notifications


From your user profile, you can update profile information like your title or phone number and change your password. Admins can also manage your user profile information from Admin > Users & Groups > Users.

How to Change Your Password

To change your password:

  1. From the user profile, click Change Password.
  2. Enter your current password and your new password.
  3. Click Confirm. Your password is immediately updated.

How to Update Profile Information

If your vault allows users to update their own contact information, an Edit button appears in your user profile. To update your details:

  1. From the user profile, click Edit.
  2. Enter new values for any field that needs an update. Note that Vault uses the email address listed here for all notifications.
  3. Click Save.

How to Update Your Profile Picture

Your profile picture is visible to other users and appears in various places in Vault. To add or update your picture:

  1. From the user profile, click on Change profile image below the current image.
  2. In the dialog, click Choose and select a picture from your computer. You can remove your profile picture by selecting Use default image. See details on the picture format below.
  3. Click OK.

About Notification Emails from Veeva

Veeva periodically sends emails with product announcements and system availability information.

Product Announcements

You can choose to receive or disable product announcement email notifications using the Product Announcement checkbox in your user profile.

System Availability Notifications

To receive email notifications from Veeva about planned system maintenance, service disruptions, and other system availability information, contact your Admin to enable these notifications for you.

About Service Announcements from Veeva

From time to time, Veeva displays service announcements as a banner notification in the Vault application, with product announcements and system availability information. For example, you may receive a notification about an upcoming maintenance window.

For each event, you will receive two (2) notifications: an initial notification when the event is first scheduled, and a second, reminder notification 24 hours before the event begins. These display automatically for every applicable user.

For additional details about the service event, click Help (?) in the notification.

Once a notification appears, you can dismiss it by clicking Close (X). After you dismiss a notification, it will not display again.

About Timezone, Language, and Locale Settings

You can set your preferred time zone, language, and locale. To change this information, select an option from one of the picklists in your language and region settings.

Profile Picture Format

Uploaded profile pictures must be JPG, PNG, or GIF files, and less than 10MB in size. Vault automatically resizes images to 64 x 64 pixels, and removes the animations for animated GIFs. Images of approximately square aspect ratio will work best as profile pictures.

About Veeva Support Access

When you need assistance from Veeva Support, it can be useful for them to see your vault from your perspective.

To grant access, select an access duration and click Grant Access. If you need to withdraw access or change the access duration, you can do so by clicking Revoke Access or Change Expiration at any time.

About the Alias Field

When selecting users for document sharing and other actions in Vault, its useful to have additional information about the user, particularly in large organizations where multiple users have the same name. To help users select the correct person, you can use the Alias field to provide additional information that appears next to your name in all places where user selection occurs. Use this field to enter whatever identifying information will be helpful, for example, your department, title, or office location.

User List

Delegate Access

Delegated access provides a secure process for you to designate another user to handle Vault responsibilities on your behalf, on either a temporary or ongoing basis. Note that delegation is vault-specific. For example, if you add Gladys as a delegate in your CDMS vault, she does not have access to your CTMS vault unless you also add her as a delegate in that vault. An admin must enable this functionality.

Admin Settings

Admins can enable or disable this functionality using the Allow users to update their own profiles settings checkbox in Admin > Settings > General Settings.

Allow Users to Update Their Profiles

Admins can enable or disable the ability for users to update their profiles using the Allow users to update their own profiles settings checkbox in Admin > Settings > General Settings.

Enable Service Availability Notifications

From the User object, Admins can enable users to receive emails from Veeva about planned system maintenance, service disruptions, and other system availability information.

To enable service availability notifications:

  1. Navigate to Admin > Business Admin > Users > {User Name}
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Expand the Email Preferences section and select the Service Availability Notifications checkbox.
  4. Click Save.

Alternatively, Admins can allow users to enable Service Availability Notifications by granting access to the User object. We recommend configuring field-level security on the on the User object if granting access.